

ERCIM STM WG 2014 Award for the Best Ph.D. Thesis on Security and Trust Management

The European Research Consortium in Informatics and Mathematics (ERCIM) has a technical WG on Security and Trust Management (STM) for performing a series of activities, as research projects, work-shop/conference organization, dissemination of knowledge, for increasing the European research and development capabilities on security, trust, and privacy.

One of the main goals of the WG is to promote the scientific growth of young researchers interested in the field of security and trust management. ERCIM STM WG then decided to establish an award for the best Ph.D. thesis in this area to increase the visibility of the young researchers within the ERCIM scientific community as well as in the scientific community in general.

The topics of interest include, but are not limited to:

- applied cryptography;
- data and application security;
- identity management;
- networked systems security;
- privacy, anonymity, and untraceability;
- rigorous semantics and computational models for security and trust;
- security, privacy, and trust in emerging computing paradigms;
- security and trust management architectures, mechanisms, and policies.

Applications for the award in 2014 are open to all Ph.D. holders that defended their thesis during 2013 in any European University. Applications consisting of the Ph.D. Thesis (in PDF format), a short summary of the Thesis (mandatory in English), a curriculum vitae (in PDF format), and letters of support from at least two researchers, one of whom should be from an ERCIM STM WG Institution, should be sent by July 7, 2014 to the WG Chair, Pierangela Samarati (pierangela.samarati@unimi.it).

Theses will be evaluated by a Committee appointed from the European research community. The theses will be judged on the basis of scientific quality, originality, clarity of presentation, as well as potential impact of the results. The Committee members for the 2014 competition are:

- Carlo Blundo, Università degli Studi di Salerno, Italy
- Simon Foley, University College Cork, Ireland
- Sokratis Katsikas, University of Piraeus, Greece
- Javier Lopez, University of Malaga, Spain
- Fabio Martinelli, CNR, Italy
- Sjouke Mauw, University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg
- Güenther Pernul, Universität Regensburg, Germany
- Jean-Jacques Quisquater, Université Catholique de Louvain, Belgium
- Pierangela Samarati, Università degli Studi di Milano, Italy

The ceremony for the award will be held during the 10th International Workshop on Security and Trust Management (STM 2014) on September 10-11 2014, Wroclaw, Poland.